Angels, Apocalypse Theorists and Prisoners’ Wives: VisionTV Reveals Fall Prime Time Lineup

VisionTV Fall 2012

The new Fall 2012 programming season is just around the corner! Here are the highlights of VisionTV’s not-to-be-missed series, movies and documentaries coming your way starting Monday, September 3.

 

BRITISH SERIES
AMERICAN MOVIES
CANADIAN DOCUMENTARIES
THE WORLD’S FAITHS
A UNIVERSE OF THE UNEXPLAINED

 

FALL 2012 HIGHLIGHTS:

 

Exclusive North American Premiere of the British hit series Prisoners’ Wives

World Premiere Documentaries I, Prophesy: The Future Revealed and Apocalypse…When?

The best British comedies, soaps and dramas!

Five hours of family viewing including the return of The Waltons and Touched by an Angel.

Celebrations of the world’s Faiths and Festivals including the Rosh Hashanah Week, Halloween, Thanksgiving and 4 weeks of Christmas!

********

BRITISH SERIES

Wednesday Nights at 9pm ET

Call it “The Jewel in Vision’s Crown”…On the heels of the success of Downton Abbey and the new Upstairs, Downstairs, VisionTV proudly presents award-winning British dramatic series Wednesdays starting September 5 at 9pm ET.

PRISONERS’ WIVES
North American Premiere!
Wednesdays at 9pm ET/6pm PT starting September 5
Watch sneak previews here!

Prisoners' Wives - Cast “A thrusting character-driven piece with a cast you can’t take your eyes off.” – The Guardian

Meet Gemma, Francesca, Harriet and Lou. Gemma had a perfect life until her husband was arrested on suspicion of murder; the glamorous Francesca is married to a career criminal; Harriet’s son is in jail for gun possession; and Lou’s boyfriend took the rap for her crimes. The four women’s lives become entwined as they all struggle to cope on the ‘outside’ while their men do time ‘inside’.

A BBC1 production originally broadcast in the UK in January 2012.

UPSTAIRS, DOWNSTAIRS
The Classic Series continues
NEW TIME: Wednesdays at 10pm ET/7pm PT starting Sept. 5

Upstairs Downstairs - Cast - ServantsLong before Downton Abbey there was…Upstairs, Downstairs. The aristocratic Bellamys and their servants continue to reside at 165 Eaton Place on VisionTV in the legendary 8-time Emmy and Golden Globe award-winning 1970s series.

Watch the latest episodes!

********

BRITBLOCK CONTINUES

Weekdays at 8 & 8:30pm ET

Fancy some great telly? From posh to ponce, VisionTV’s prime time BritBlock presents the best timeless and contemporary comedies from across the pond.

EASTENDERS
Weeknights at 8pm ET/5pm PT

EastEnders: Arthur "Fatboy" Chubb (Ricky Norwood), Lucas Johnson (Don Gilet) and Denise Johnson (Diane Parish)Tired of your favourite American soaps disappearing off the dial? Tune in to the UK’s #1 hit soap following the dramatic lives of the residents of Albert Square in London’s East End.

Watch the latest episodes!

THE BENNY HILL SHOW
Mondays at 8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT

The Benny Hill ShowMichael Jackson was a fan. So was Walter Cronkite. Clockwork Orange author Anthony Burgess described the comedian as “one of the great artists of our age.” The cherubic Benny Hill continues to entertain with his trademark slapstick and outrageous antics.

THE OLD GUYS
Tuesdays at 8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT until Sept. 18

The Old Guys: Clive Swift as Roy and Roger Lloyd Pack as Tom - photo by Alan PeeblesStuck-in-the-1960s Tom and suburban pensioner Roy are flat-mates determined to go out in a blaze of glory as they vie for the attention of their sexy but oblivious neighbour Sally who keeps finding “another bloody boyfriend who isn’t us.” Starring Clive Swift (Keeping Up Appearances) and Roger Lloyd Pack.

ARE YOU BEING SERVED?
Wednesdays at 8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT

Are You Being Served - CastThis classic comedy set in the ladies’ and gentlemen’s clothing departments of Grace Brothers takes the concept of double entendre to a whole new level. Isn’t that right Mrs. Slocombe?

ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS
Thursdays at 8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT

Absolutely Fabulous: Jennifer Saunders as Edina and Joanna Lumley as PatsyPour yourself some champers, sweetie! “Sin is in” in one of the world’s most popular sitcoms based in the world of fashion and PR starring Jennifer Saunders as Edina Monsoon and Joanna Lumley as Patsy Stone.

THE LAST OF THE SUMMER WINE
Fridays at 8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT

Last of the Summer Wine - CastCheck in on the Yorkshire misadventures of delightful Zoomer delinquents Clegg, Truly and Alvin in the world’s longest running sitcom.

BLACK BOOKS
Tuesdays at 8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT starting Sept. 25

Black Books - CastBernard Black is the misanthropic, foul-tempered, eccentric and drink-fuelled proprietor of a grubby book shop. He hates customers and has little interest in books. Strongly reminiscent of Fawlty Towers, Black Books blends slapstick, rapid fire dialog, and surrealism for “a cake so stuffed with laughs, it could be your final meal”. (digiguide.tv)

********

CANADIAN DOCUMENTARIES

World Premieres Mondays at 11 and 11:30pm ET

 
Start your week with a Monday mind workout!

In 2011/12, VisionTV premiered over 25 original, intelligent and provocative documentaries and series including Bruce Cockburn: Pacing the Cage, Corpus, Hidden World of the Harem and filmmaker Simcha Jacobovici‘s controversial The Jesus Discovery. 2012/13 will see premieres of documentaries on Leonardo DaVinci, Gandhi and address apocalyptic predictions, religious fundamentalism and anti-semitism.

I PROPHESY: THE FUTURE REVEALED
Weeknights at 11:30pm ET/8:30pm PT from November 19-23 and 26-30

I Prophesy: The Future RevealedHumans are obsessed with trying to predict events to come. This anthology series takes a critical look at the predictions of oracles and considers the possible tomorrows that await us. New episodes include: Rapture Ready, Mother Shipton’s Visions, Hildegard: Mystic of the Rhine, Edgar Cayce: Prophet of Doom, The Prophesy of the Popes, Nostradamus, Blood Moon, and The Red Heifer.

APOCALYPSE…WHEN?
Weeknights at 11pm ET/8pm PT from November 19-23

Apocalypse...When? Host, Brian PaisleyWhy do we keep anticipating The End of the World? This six-part documentary series explores the origins, implications and repercussions of Doomsday thinking.

Search our video section for more provocative docs to watch online!

********

GREAT FAMILY ENTERTAINMENT

Weekdays from 3pm – 8pm ET starting Sept. 3

TOUCHED BY AN ANGEL
Weekdays at 4pm ET/1pm PT

Touched by an Angel - Della Reese as Tess and Roma Downey as MonicaRediscover the award-winning series starring Della Reese and Roma Downey that was one of North America’s highest rated shows. Under the guidance of Tess (Reese), Monica (Downey) is an earth-bound angel who relies more on her cleverness than miracles.

THE WALTONS
Weekdays at 5pm ET/2pm PT

The WaltonsFirst broadcast in September 1972, one of the most beloved families of all time returns to VisionTV after a summer hiatus.

SUE THOMAS F.B EYE
Weekdays at 6pm ET/3pm PT

Sue Thomas F.B. Eye - Deanne Bray stars as Sue ThomasFollow the edge-of-your-seat adventures of hard-headed, soft-hearted Sue Thomas at the FBI in Washington, DC. With her hearing-ear dog Levi and her talent for reading lips, Sue helps crack cases and bag the bad guys in places listening devices can’t penentrate. Based on a true story, the series is an inspiring tribute to the ability of the human spirit to overcome adversity.

MURDER, SHE WROTE
Weekdays at 7pm ET/4pm PT

Murder, She Wrote - Angela Lansbury stars as Jessica FletcherAngela Lansbury stars as the sleuthing Jessica Fletcher is VisionTV’s most popular show. Watch for special guest stars in September including Janet Leigh, Rene Auberjonois, Billy Zane, Sonny Bono and Kristy McNichol.

HEARTLAND
Weekdays at 3pm & 11pm ET/Noon & 8pm PT

Amber Marshall, Shaun Johnston and Michelle Morgan star in HeartlandBased on the books by Lauren Brooke, this family drama follows sisters Amy and Lou Fleming and their grandfather Jack through the highs and lows of life on a horse ranch in Alberta.

********

FRIDAY NIGHT SING-A-LONGS

Interactive Friday Night Sing-a-longs feature two hours of uplifting music and remain one of VisionTV’s most popular viewing nights!

GAITHER GOSPEL HOUR
Fridays at 9pm ET/6pm PT

The Gaither Gospel Hour - Bill and Gloria GaitherThey wrote a song for Elvis and have won more Grammys than The Beatles. Bill and Gloria Gaither play to sell-out crowds wherever they travel. Sing-a-long to inspirational Southern Gospel with the Gaither Vocal Band and special guests.

GOD’S GREATEST HITS
Fridays at 10pm ET/7pm PT – continues until Sept. 21

God's Greatest HitsLearn the history of, and sing-a-long with, some of the most divinely inspired music.

TIME TO SING
Fridays at 10pm ET/7pm PT – starts Sept. 28

Time To Sing - Host, Rosalie RattaiWinnipeg-based host Rosalie Rattai gathers friends together to sing some good old-fashioned songs relive nostalgic and heartwarming memories.

LET’S SING AGAIN
Fridays at 10:30pm ET/7:30pm PT

She’s been a police officer, a Baptist missionary and a sociology teacher. Victoria-based host Louise Rose plays the piano and leads the joyous singing in this classic sing-a-long show.

********

THE WORLD’S FAITHS AND FESTIVALS

VisionTV will broadcast specials to celebrate and commemorate special times of the year including Rosh Hashanah (Jewish New Year) and Yom Kippur, Senior’s Day, Thanksgiving, Halloween, Remembrance Day, and the ever-popular four weeks of Christmas.

TO FORGIVE…DIVINE
Monday Sept. 10 at 10pm ET/7pm PT

To Forgive...DivineFilmmaker Hilary Pryor examines the concept of forgiveness by interweaving rituals of Judaism’s Yom Kippur and the Christian Sacrament of Reconciliation.

ROSH HASHANAH: DAY OF JUDGEMENT
Monday Sept. 17 at 10pm ET/7pm PT

Rosh Hashanah: Day of JudgementCanadian radio and television personality Ralph Benmurgui hosts this documentary investigating the symbolic meaning of the many customs and traditions associated with Rosh Hashanah, such as the blowing of the ram’s horn, or shofar.

SOPHIE’S CHOICE
Part One – Tuesday, Sept. 18 at Midnight ET/9pm PT
Part Two – Wednesday, Sept. 19 at Midnight ET/9pm PT

Adapted from William Styron‘s best-selling novel, the film, set in 1947, tells the tempestuous love story of Nathan (Kevin Kline) and Sopnie (Meryl Streep, Academy Award, Best Actress), a Polish Holocaust survivor with a haunting and unimaginable past.

LIES MY FATHER TOLD ME
Monday, Sept. 17 at Midnight ET/9pm PT
Tuesday, Sept. 18 at 9pm ET/6pm PT

Shot on location in Montreal, Lies My Father Told Me captures the universal immigrant experience. The 1976 Golden Globe Winner for Best Foreign Film tells the tale of a seven-year-old boy caught between two opposing forces – the traditional Orthodox Jewish values of his grandfather and the material ambitions of his parents.

“Packs as much of a punch today as it did when it was first released.” – Montreal Gazette

UPCOMING SPECIAL DATES…

THANKSGIVING – Monday, October 8
HALLOWEEN – Wednesday, October 31
REMEMBRANCE DAY – Sunday, November 11 and Monday, November 12
4 WEEKS OF CHRISTMAS – December 3 – 28

********

SENIORS DAY

VisionTV will broadcast specials in tribute to Canada’s demographic on October 1st in celebration of National Seniors Day.

WONDERLAND: ALZHEIMER’S – THE MUSICAL
Monday Oct. 1 at 10pm ET/7pm PT

Wonderland: Alzheimer's - The Musical - CastThis UK documentary focuses on the work of Singing for the Brain, a voluntary service that holds singing sessions for dementia sufferers and their caregivers, revealing the astonishing ability of music to reach people long after their memories have disappeared.

GRUMPIER OLD MEN/ABOUT SCHMIDT/OH GOD!/OH GOD! BOOK II/OH GOD! YOU DEVIL!
October 1 – 5 at Midnight ET/9pm PT

Ann-Margret and Jack Lemmon star in "Grumpier Old Men"A pair of Jacks, a Walter, and a lotta George make this week of midnight movies extra feisty!

LOVE LATER IN LIFE
Monday Oct. 1 at 2am ET/11pm PT

Love Later In Life - Host, Jojo ChintohAn original documentary hosted by veteran television journalist Jojo Chintoh that explores the courtship and present life of four sets of couple who unexpectedly found love after 45.

********

GREAT MOVIES

Tuesdays and Thursdays at 9pm ET
Weekdays at 12 Midnight ET

 

Columbo: Death Hits the Jackpot starring Peter FalkBlockbusters and classic films continue on VisionTV’s Great Movies. Watch for the network premiere of 38 Columbo movies starring Peter Falk!
 
 

Share:
This entry was posted in Articles, News Releases and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.