Veterans’ Week in Canada: Remember, Rediscover and Pay Tribute with Vision

Canada RemembersThe vivid visual of red poppies growing over the graves of fallen soldiers became a symbolic reminder of the heroic efforts and sacrifices our Canadian service men and women have made over the past 100 years of periodic international conflict. “In Flanders Fields”, the poignant poem inspired by this scene and written in Belgium during World War I by Canadian physician and Lieutenant Colonel John McCrae, serves as perhaps our biggest literary focal point underlining our war time losses and legacy. The red poppy that grew in those Flemish burial fields became the symbol we wear over our hearts each year to signify our remembrance of those who made the ultimate sacrifice.

From World Wars I, II and The Korean War, to our most recent roles in Afghanistan, Canadians have fought bravely, helped those in need and have worked tirelessly to preserve and ensure our personal freedoms. According to CanadaatWar.ca, we’ve lost over 114,000 military personnel since 1914, with the vast majority of losses suffered during World War I and II. These selfless sacrifices make it incumbent upon us as a country to always remember and pay tribute to them. Veterans’ Affairs Canada invites everyone to make remembrance more than something you feel. Make it something you do. There are several suggestions for how we can commemorate Veterans’ Week including a number of ways to share and offer support via social media.

As Canada celebrates Veterans’ Week from November 5 to 11, VisionTV is marking this important period with a series of gripping, in-depth documentaries and heartrending movies chronicling the atrocities of war, the honour of our achievements and the heartbreaking sacrifices and hardships faced by people all over the world in times of conflict. From the high flying salute of the Canada Remembers documentaries to the emotional and eye-opening recounts of war time tragedies in The Crucified Soldier, Murder in Normandy, and The Struma, Vision delves deep this week into these dark periods of our history.

Here’s the full schedule. Click on the program titles for show descriptions and more:

Canada Remembers AchievementsCanada Remembers Women Who Served and Sacrificed

MONDAY, NOV. 5, 2012

The Crucified Soldier
9:00pm ET/6:00pm PT

Canada Remembers: Festival For Heroes
10:00pm ET/7:00PM PT

The Struma
Midnight ET/9:00PM PT

TUESDAY, NOV. 6, 2012

Murder in Normandy
9:00pm ET/6:00PM PT

Canada Remembers: Women Who Have Served and Sacrificed
Midnight ET/9:00PM PT

A Rough Crossing
1:00am ET/10:00PM PT

Murder In Normandy: Kurt Meyer and SoldiersCanada Remembers: Festival For Heroes

WEDNESDAY, NOV. 7, 2012

The Veteran
Midnight ET/9:00PM PT

THURSDAY, NOV. 8, 2012

Hidden in Silence
9:00pm ET/6:00PM PT

Unlikely Obsession: Churchill and the Jews
Midnight ET/9:00PM PT

FRIDAY, NOV. 9, 2012

God on Trial
Midnight ET/9:00PM PT

SATURDAY, NOV. 10, 2012

The Crucified Soldier
2:00am ET/11:00pm PT

Hidden In SilenceGod On Trial

Share:
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.