E-News Icon zNews Icon Twitter icon RSS Feeds

10 Great Things to Know About “Songs of Freedom” Star Measha Brueggergosman

Songs of Freedom with Measha Brueggergosman

As part of VisionTV’s celebration of Black History Month 2016, we will proudly be airing an encore presentation of Songs of Freedom featuring Canadian soprano sensation, Measha Brueggergosman.

Songs of Freedom with Measha BrueggergosmanExecutive Produced by Niv Fichman and Moses Znaimer and Produced/Directed by Barbara Willis Sweete and Rhombus Media, the full, feature length edition of Songs of Freedom can be seen on Monday, February 15 at Midnight ET/9pm PT and Tuesday, February 16 at 9pm ET/6pm PT. This stunning, award-nominated music-doc can also be viewed in four parts, at 10pm ET/7pm PT on Fridays from February 5-26.

In Songs of Freedom, Brueggergosman embarks on an emotional and spiritual journey that includes a mesmerizing visit to Cameroon, the country her family originated from. Brueggergosman also discusses how her family escaped slavery in America and started a new life in Canada. Throughout the powerful and moving film, Brueggergosman, her band consisting of Musical Director and Co-Producer Aaron Davis (piano/keyboards), Rob Piltch (guitars), Marc Rogers (bass), Davide DiRenzo (drums) and Marko Simmonds (vocals), perform a wide selection of Freedom Songs (“Amazing Grace,” “Swing Low Sweet Chariot,” “Go Tell it on the Mountain”) all of which “emerged from Africa via the slave trade to America, then to Canada via the United Empire Loyalist migration and the Underground Railroad.”

While the series follows her home to Nova Scotia/New Brunswick and to her ancestral home in Cameroon, Brueggergosman also gets to collaborate and perform with the Nova Scotia Mass Choir, the Ebenezar English Choir of Cameroon and Cameroonian singer/songwriter Sanzy Viany with the Assiko Group of Nkolmondo.

Songs of Freedom iOs App 600For an even deeper look at Songs of Freedom, we encourage you to visit SongsOfFreedom.ca for a wealth of additional insight, as well as performance videos that were filmed with a special 360-degree camera and allow the viewer to control how he or she is watching Brueggergosman and her band/accompanists in action. Download the Songs of Freedom App for your iOS device as well.

To get you warmed up for Songs of Freedom, here are some excellent things you may not know, but should, about the one and only Measha Brueggergosman.

-Adam Grant

WATCH: Measha performs “Go Down Moses” in Cameroon with Sanzy Viany and the Assiko Group of Nkolmondo

WATCH: Measha and her brother Neville research fascinating family history in the Book of Negroes

Share:
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.