E-News Icon zNews Icon Twitter icon RSS Feeds

Songs of Freedom: Big Songs & A Bigger Discovery

Songs of Freedom with Measha Brueggergosman

As part of VisionTV’s celebration of Black History Month 2016, we will proudly be airing an encore presentation of Songs of Freedom featuring Canadian soprano sensation, Measha Brueggergosman.

In episode one of the four-part series, Brueggergosman introduces her deep passion for Freedom Songs, all the while introducing the audience to her family’s origins and stomping grounds in the Maritimes.

Alongside Marko Simmonds, former Director, Nova Scotia Mass Choir, Brueggergosman opens the episode by running through an inspired rendition of “This Little Light of Mine” in a gorgeous church setting with enthusiastic choir members. While dressed mostly in black, this group of accomplished vocalists still manages to shine and sway brightly as they belt out this well-known and loved spiritual.

“‘This Little Light of Mine’ is pretty iconic,” explains Brueggergosman. “I was beside Marko when he came up with this arrangement. He is so gifted and passionate about music and about this choir. There’s a harmony to gospel music that is very foreign to me and he is really at the core of that.”

Flanked by Musical Director and Co-Producer Aaron Davis (piano/keyboards), Rob Piltch (guitars), Marc Rogers (bass), Davide DiRenzo (drums) and Marko Simmonds (vocals), Brueggergosman soon takes viewers inside The Chalet Recording Studio as the collective performs spirited renditions of “Ride On King Jesus,” “Partons, La Mer est Belle” and “Blessed Assurance,” a tune in which Brueggergosman says was “a staple” for her while growing up.

MEASHA TALKS SONGS OF FREEDOM WITH CLASSICAL 96.3fm’S KERRY STRATTON

When not bringing us her best from behind the microphone, Brueggergosman shares a discovery she made while going through “The Book of Negroes” – a discovery that proves to be a truly significant one for her family.

Offers Brueggergosman: “[This is] a record of all of the black loyalists who escaped their slave owners and fought for the British during the War of Independence in order to gain their emancipation.”

With a perfect blend of musical triumph and heartwarming family moments, the first episode of “Songs of Freedom” enlightens and entertains. Be sure to catch it on Friday, February 5 at 10pm ET/7pm PT on VisionTV with further episodes airing every Friday thoughout February.

Meanwhile, the 90-minute edition of “Songs of Freedom” can be seen on VisionTV on Monday, February 15 at Midnight ET/9pm PT and Tuesday, February 16 at 9pm ET/6pm PT.

Looking to learn more about “Songs of Freedom” and Brueggergosman? If so, we can help you out right here.

To view musical performances from “Songs of Freedom,” please click on the photo below.

-Adam Grant

Songs of Freedom - Blessed Assurance

Share:
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.