Vision TV Channel Canada

Shrewd Motherly Advice from Downton Abbey’s Dowager Countess

Mother’s Day is just around the corner and apart from amazing birthday and Christmas presents, our moms have also bestowed upon us a wide range of wisdom over the years. You know the staples: wash your hands before dinner; look both ways before crossing the street; say please and thank you; and, of course, keep your hands to yourself.

Now, imagine for a moment that Violet Crawley, the Dowager Countess of Grantham, is your mother. On one hand, this has probably allowed you to live a pretty elite lifestyle complete with an impressive fashion sense, a tough-as-nails sense of self and the ability to face the world head-on without fear or trepidation. Heck, you may even be able to verbally slice and dice others with the precision of the Dowager, when necessary.

But, like every good mother out there who has designs on raising a respectable and decent member of society, the Dowager would certainly also be as tough as an over-cooked steak.

Looking back over the many years of “Downton Abbey,” the Dowager has offered her fair share of advice and world insights that mother’s of today could – depending on their tact and beliefs – pass along to their children.

We have compiled a list of our 10 favourite motherly remarks from the Dowager Countess. Please vote for your favourites by clicking the “+” sign next to each photo.

Also, in the comments section below, we’d love you to tell us the best motherly advice you’ve given or received.

Tune in to VisionTV on Wednesdays at 10pm ET/7pm PT for an encore presentation of Downton Abbey season five. On June 29 at 9pm ET/6pm PT, we will be premiering season six of Downton Abbey. You won’t want to miss that!

-Adam Grant