E-News Icon zNews Icon Twitter icon RSS Feeds

Downton May be Done, but VisionTV has Your British Fix this Fall!

Downton Abbey S6 - Call the Midwife S4 Combo

As saddened as we are that the incomparable “Downton Abbey” has drawn to a close, we are thrilled to bring you an incredible collection of new British programming this fall, including the return of “Call the Midwife,” along with the debut seasons of “Jericho” and “50 Ways to Kill Your Mammy.”

On season four of “Call the Midwife” (Wednesdays, 9pm ET/6pm PT), the nurses and nuns of the Nonnatus House get ready to enter a whole new decade, the 1960s, and work through the arrival of new nurses and various matters of the heart. Comedic star, Miranda Hart, returns for another dramatic turn as Chummy Noakes.

Tuesdays will see the return of “Call the Midwife” alumni, Jessica Raine, to VisionTV in the beautifully shot and acted shantytown drama, “Jericho” at 8pm ET/5pm PT. Here, Raine plays Annie Quintain, a poverty stricken mother of two who is looking for a fresh start. Eventually, she ends up in Jericho, a place in which characters of all shapes, sizes, morals and backgrounds live and die in the shadow of the viaduct they’ve come together to construct.

50 Ways to Kill Your Mammy

“50 Ways to Kill Your Mammy”

Starting your week off on a super-adventurous front is “50 Ways to Kill Your Mammy” (Mondays, 8pm ET/5pm PT), a hit reality series in which outlandish radio and television personality Baz Ashmawy takes his mother around the world to participate in death-defying stunts and heart-stopping experiences. Great laughs can be had throughout, but what really brings this stellar series to the top is its ability to poignantly show the growing bond between a mother and her son.

Britcoms will also be a major player this fall, with iconic comedies “Birds of a Feather” (3pm ET/Noon PT) and “Are You Being Served?” (3:30pm ET/12:30pm PT) airing daily in the afternoon.

In the evenings, the laughter continues on Wednesdays with “Bless Me Father” (8pm ET/5pm PT), “Miranda” (8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT), as well as “Our Zoo” (10pm ET/7pm PT). As for Thursdays stop by and be treated to tons of chuckles courtesy of “One Foot in the Grave” (8pm ET/5pm PT) and “Cradle to Grave” (8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT).

This fall, join VisionTV for daringly dramatic and laugh-out-loud comedies from across the pond! Click here for a full look at our highlighted programming, as well as a closer look at the aforementioned Britcoms.

(These programming changes come into effect the week of September 5)

Jericho - S1

“Jericho”

On Wednesday, August 31, be sure to tune in at 5 & 9pm ET/2 & 6pm PT for “Great War House: Blenheim Palace.” Here, “Downton Abbey” creator Julian Fellowes is on a mission to find the true stories behind the greatest of Britain’s great houses.

Share:
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.
  • Barbara Clancy

    Looking forward to your new season. Just wondering – do you have a HD channel as I do not get that on Shaw TV…

    • ZoomerTVMOD

      Hi Barbara- Thanks so much! We’re really looking forward to bringing this great slate of new programming to everyone and hope you’ll enjoy everything. We don’t have an HD channel as of yet and don’t have a definite ETA for it, but do hope to establish that as soon as possible. Thanks for watching!